Embedded support for vulnerable Australians

An innovative program helping to bridge the gap between people doing it tough and Australia’s welfare system is being extended across Australia.

Minister for Government Services the Hon. Bill Shorten MP today announced Phase 2 of the Community Partnership Pilot, which will expand to have sites in every state and territory across the country.

“Under this pilot, Services Australia’s dedicated Community Partnership Specialist Officers work on site at the participating community organisations to connect people to payments and services,” Minister Shorten said.

“We’re connecting with people in a familiar setting, working alongside the organisations they already go to for help.

“One of my key priorities as Minister for Government Services has been tackling vulnerability, and the Community Partnership Pilot is a cornerstone of inclusive access to government services.

“The first phase of the pilot has already seen great outcomes by delivering a tailored service through partnerships with four organisations in Sydney, Melbourne, and Darwin.

“I’m proud to announce the extension of this pilot with a further 11 partnerships around the country.

“Launching in August 2022, Phase 1 of the pilot has seen Community Partnership Specialist Officers deliver an end-to-end wraparound service in collaboration with our partner organisations. The Community Partnership Specialist Officers have had over 1400 interactions with customers, assisting them to access additional supports on over 1200 occasions.”

For over a third of all engagements, customers have been able to get the support they need and their business resolved upon first visit.

“These simple and helpful interactions are building relationships with people that may have been otherwise marginalised from their community,” Minister Shorten said.

“I look forward to seeing the outcomes of this initiative over the next 12 months as we work together to support the most vulnerable in our community.”

Phase 1 locations – August 2022:

  • The Rev Bill Crews Foundation (Sydney, New South Wales)
  • Father Bob Maguire Foundation (Melbourne, Victoria)
  • The Salvation Army Project 614 (Melbourne, Victoria)
  • St Vincent de Paul Society Ozanam House (Darwin, Northern Territory)

Phase 2 locations – from December 2022:

  • Core Community Services (Fairfield/Cabramatta, New South Wales)
  • Wayside Chapel (Sydney CBD, New South Wales)
  • Wollongong Homeless Hub (Wollongong, New South Wales)
  • Wayss (Dandenong, Victoria)
  • 3rd Space (Brisbane CBD, Queensland)
  • Yfs (Logan, Queensland)
  • Caboolture Neighbourhood Centre (Caboolture, Queensland)
  • Uniting WA – Tranby Engagement Hub (Perth CBD, Western Australia)
  • Hutt Street Centre (Adelaide CBD, South Australia)
  • The Early Morning Centre (Canberra CBD, Australian Capital Territory)
  • Hobart City Mission (Hobart CBD, Tasmania)