Disaster payments available for more NSW flood-impacted residents

Australian Government disaster payments are available now to eligible residents in six additional local government areas (LGAs), affected by the severe storms and flooding that continue to impact large areas of New South Wales.

The one-off, non-means tested Australian Government Disaster Recovery Payment of $1000 per eligible adult and $400 per eligible child is available to people living in those LGAs who have suffered a significant loss as a result of the floods, including a severely damaged or destroyed home or a serious injury.

The assistance has now been extended to the local government areas of Bayside, Dungog, Lake Macquarie, Maitland, Singleton and Upper Lachlan, bringing the total number of eligible LGAs to 29.

The Disaster Recovery Allowance has also been made available to assist employees and sole traders who experience a loss of income as a direct result of a major disaster and is payable for a maximum of 13 weeks. The Disaster Recovery Allowance is taxable.

Minister for Emergency Management, Senator the Hon Murray Watt said the Australian Government was committed to provide support now and through the recovery.

“This is a widespread flood and as the damage continues to be assessed, the Albanese Government is working quickly to provide access to financial and other assistance,” Minister Watt said.

Acting Minister for Government Services Amanda Rishworth said Services Australia’s priority was helping people access essential disaster assistance.

“Already more than 42,000 people have been supported with much-needed cash payments and income support with Services Australia staff processing claims as quickly as possible,” Minister Rishworth said

“The fastest and easiest way for people in these additional LGAs to claim is through myGov.

“If people need help to claim, they can call the Australian Government Emergency Information Line on 180 22 66.”

The assistance is also available in the local government areas of Blacktown, Blue Mountains, Camden, Canterbury Bankstown, Campbelltown, Central Coast, Cessnock, Fairfield, Georges River, Hawkesbury, Hornsby, Kiama, Lithgow, Liverpool, Northern Beaches, Penrith, Shellharbour, Shoalhaven, Sutherland, The Hills, Wingecarribee, Wollondilly and Wollongong.

Equivalent financial assistance will also be available to eligible New Zealand citizens (‘non-protected’ Special Category Visas, subclass 444 holders) affected by the floods.